Stage 3, BWM, and working out while travelling

Stage 2 went by very quickly. Surprisingly, I really enjoyed the interval training. Here I started to notice a change in my stomach area – less fat on the sides! And the top part of my abdominal muscles are starting to become visible! Could it be the interval training, or is my muscle finally starting to burn my stored fat? Either way, I’m very happy with the results!

I have just done the first workouts of Stage 3. I’m glad to see that the interval training is still there, but now there is the infamous Body Weight Matrix.

The Body Weight Matrix, or BWM hereafter, is killer. You’re supposed to do 24 squats, 24 lunges, 24 lunge jumps and 24 squat jumps in quick succession, timing how long you took. You then rest for twice the length of time it took to complete, and repeat once more. My first attempts were around the 6 min 30 sec mark. My thighs were so sore afterwards. And oh yes – this is after the usual weightlifting session.

Another new painful exercise, which I actually really like, is the one-legged Romanian Deadlift. It feels awesome and ridiculous as you balance on one leg, bending forward at the hips with little dumbbells moving down your thighs. But it appears I had never used my hamstrings before, because the DOMS from those lasted three days. Highly recommended for the slightly masochistic out there!

The other thing I wanted to talk about today was travel. I’m going to Singapore on a conference this week, and spending next week in Manila. I’m not quite sure how this will affect my exercise regimen. The hotel in Singapore has a gym with dumbbells, so instead of doing the programme I’ll do some interval training and a mix of dumbbell moves (most likely dumbbell bench press, Bulgarian split squat, wide-grip lat pulldown and the aforementioned one-legged Romanian Deadlifts). In Manila there is no gym at the hotel, but I think I’ll use it as a week of rest and relaxation. Now doubt I’ll get plenty of walking in while I’m visiting the malls!

Leave a Reply

