Impending end of Stage 5

Yesterday I did the last of the “Workout 5a”s, and on Monday I’ll finish Stage 5 for good! Hooray! In honesty, I should have finished today, but with my frustrating eternal sleepiness I took last Friday and Monday off from working out, and went back to the gym on Thursday. Feeling much better now.

So, I have a confession to make: I run out of time to do these workouts. I haven’t done a proper Body Weight Matrix in any of these workouts. I have cut out sets so I can have time to do the first BWM round, then had to go to work (late. Sigh.) The truth is, Stage 5A takes ages. Even with sets cut out and half the BWM, it takes me over 75 minutes.

I did manage to increase my weights on pretty much everything; my dumbbell snatch is now at 14kg/4reps (from 8kg at the beginning of the stage)! And my single-leg squat is at 20kg (from bodyweight). My forearm strength is affecting a lot of the lifts, and I feel like I would benefit more from using a barbell in many of the dumbbell exercises as a result. Bent-over rows are one exercise with no or little progress – mainly because my forearms give out. I tried out a supine grip this week and it was a little better.

Stage 6 will begin next Wednesday, and it sounds interesting – it trains us to do a chin up! Looking forward to it…

Leave a Reply

