End of Stage 5, and Stage 5 Awards!

I finished Stage 5 this morning and am quite pleased to have done so! Here are some thoughts on this stage now that I have properly finished it:

  • Workout 5a takes too damn long
  • The High Intensity Interval training remains in Workout 5b, and the weightlifting part is shorter, which makes this workout a more reasonable length
  • It is basically Stage 3 all over again, but with lower reps (yay!)

Things I did not do:

  • All the sets in Workout 5a (still too damn long without them)
  • YWTL (neck issues)
  • Swiss Ball Crunch (neck issues, subbed with side planks)
  • Prone Cobra/Supermans, most of the time (time issues, and you feel a bit retarded doing it. Yes, I’ll suffer for it later.)

I’ve decided to bring back the Workout Awards for this stage, because there are some exercises I feel strongly about!

Most Improved
Partial Single-Leg Squat

  • 16 June 2013: BW/4 reps
  • 15 July 2013: 25kg/4 reps

Least Improved
Reverse Wood Chop

  • 24 June 2013: 28lb/4reps
  • 11 July 2013: 28lb/4reps

New Favourite
Partial Single-Leg Squat

How’s this one for a butt workout? I really enjoyed pushing my limits on this exercise.

Least Favourite
Barbell Bent-Over Row

This one frustrated me the most because my forearm strength limited this lift. I didn’t feel like I got to work out the muscles the bent-over row is supposed to work out because the weight that I could hold wasn’t challenging enough.

Surprise Favourite
Reverse Crunch

I used to do these when I did boxing training, and really enjoyed them this time. Normally I am not big on ab exercises (Supermans? No thanks!) but this was a fun one – especially with legs straight out!

One thought on “End of Stage 5, and Stage 5 Awards!”

Leave a Reply

