I’ve been weightlifting for a year now.

It came to my attention on the weekend that an important milestone was coming up when I was talking to a friend about all the random activities I try. As you may have guessed from the name of my blog, I like to try things and learn things. There have been a few phases over the past couple of years – roller derby, archery, calligraphy, bookbinding, German, Python coding, karate, Power 90, knitting and crochet are some of them. I make returns to some of them (I’m currently on bookbinding again!). But I’ve never really been truly dedicated or steadfast to any of them.

Except weightlifting.

I’m pretty proud to say that over the last year, aside from sickness and travel, I’ve made it to the gym regularly and lifted weights that are personally challenging. I’ve learned a lot about proper form, nutrition, and muscles. I’m nowhere near an expert, but I know a lot more than I did before. I’ve even found a form of cardio that I enjoy.

I remember Tony feeling my upper arm and trying to feel the bicep hidden under the fat. Now tables have turned and there is more bicep than fat!

And somehow I am nowhere even close to this physique… I feel cheated.

So, here’s to fitness success, to consistency, to breaking the norm, kicking ass and enjoying it. I’ll be celebrating with a delicious protein shake instead of cake!

4 thoughts on “I’ve been weightlifting for a year now.”

Leave a Reply

