Bridezilla

While stuff like this is never okay, I am beginning to see how easy it is for women to become “bridezillas” (or grooms to become “groomzillas”, as our celebrant put it!). Many brides-to-be will try to change their physical appearance for their wedding day, and we mostly hear about “losing xxlb/kg” for the big day. I’m definitely no exception; I want to look awesome and lose some fat. This means decreasing calories, and (sometimes) increasing exercise levels. It also usually means giving up or decreasing the amount of junk food we eat and alcohol we drink.

Suddenly we’ve getting fewer calories than normal, and we’re working harder at the gym, we’re going to work and still going about our regular daily lives. And we’re also planning a wedding. All of this combined is hard on a person. It’s a lot of stress, both physically and mentally. And when things don’t go quite right, it is much easier to lose control of perspective.

I don’t know how people do it. There is so much to planning a wedding, even a cheap, informal one like mine. I’m exhausted all the time, and I’ve only made it to the gym four times in the past two weeks. I’ve decided that my health and sanity is more important than my physical appearance, so I’ve stopped counting my calories, but still making good food choices. I definitely don’t want to be a zombie on my wedding day!

Leave a Reply

