Post-wedding workout plan

Whew! The last month was pretty stressful, but now I am married. This means fitness can once again become a priority in my life. This is a good thing!

After completing New Rules of Lifting for Women (go me!), I floundered quite a bit, which was fine because, y’know, impending wedding. I’ve finally decided what to do, and that is 5/3/1. It’s a powerlifting programme, so while it includes all the big lifts I love and hate, it also includes interesting accessory exercises. Also: no lunges.

I did Starting Strength when I started lifting, which is another powerlifting programme. I did get bored with it. So many squats. Every bloody workout. There were five lifts:

Barbell Squat, which features in every workout;
Deadlift, which is a very rewarding lift for a beginner;
Bench Press, which is not a very rewarding lift for a lady beginner;
Overhead Press, which is okay,
and Power Clean, which was super fun but quite hard to get correct form, especially after all those damn squats.

Wendler’s 5/3/1 programme offers more variety by contrast. There are four workouts, and each workout has a main lift (either barbell squat, deadlift, bench press or overhead press). The main lift is then followed by two related accessory lifts. This means, hooray! I will finally get to experience the after-effects of leg day!

In all seriousness, I am really looking forward to doing this programme. It seems simple, but with enough variety to stop it getting boring. It should (slowly) increase my “numbers” (aka weight you can lift), and also give me a reason to get up and go to the gym in the morning. And who knows, maybe I will end up looking like Wendler himself.

Leave a Reply

