Highlights

There haven’t been very many lately. The one thing that brings me the biggest joy at the moment is visiting the dog park. It’s a pretty big reserve, around 2.5km to walk the outer loop. And of course there are always dogs there playing and having a good time.

I did a huge walk today, around 7.5km, after 2km of cycling and a small amount of lifting. There were several dogs in the park, and a few came up to say hello: a Rottweiler, a Doberman, a couple of tiny curly-haired things, a Spoodle (spaniel x poodle) and an adorable big tan mix who got right up in my face. She was excited to meet me, but her owner obviously was a bit concerned!

I don’t go out of my way to interact with the dogs, I just like seeing them, and if they find me interesting, that’s an added bonus! They are there to get some exercise and meet some doggy friends, and I don’t want to interfere. That’s also why I don’t take photos while I’m there.

I find it hilarious watching them playing together anyway, especially when they are different sizes. The aforementioned big tan mix was chasing the Spoodle and a cute brown Cocker Spaniel around one of the fields, and the spaniel kept tripping and falling face-first into the mud. Poor little guy. As I left the park, the tan mix tried to follow me out. She was so lovely and naughty!

In the meantime, Crufts videos are tiding me over. Unfortunately, the Best of Breed is more like a catalogue, especially the Pastoral section. I’ll take a Border Collie, a Sheltie, a Corgi, and a Samoyed please! And with that, I think it’s time to check out the Gundog catalogue.

Leave a Reply

