Shanks’ Pony

This is what I’ve been up to this week in terms of steps:

Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 21.39.30

Happening across the dog park has changed my life quite a lot. Most days, my Fitbit counter looks similar to this:

Fitbit12April2015
It’s so happy!

The dog park is definitely a huge motivator for me. I love to see all the dogs, and I’m starting to recognise some of the regulars. It’s a great excuse to get a few thousand steps in. We had gone in to town on the train to check out Japan Day, and did a bit of walking around. Instead of walking straight home from the train station though, I convinced Tony to make a detour to the dog park. It wasn’t bad though. He got to meet a cute cat along the way.

wpid-wp-1428831086828.jpeg

The last week has been quite intense for walking. I was invited to a Workweek Hustle challenge on Fitbit, where Fitbit friends get together and compete to get the most steps from Monday to Friday. I haven’t worked so hard to go walking before. I increased my daily goal from 10,000 steps per day to 15,000, and I still came fifth out of six. The top person ended up with over 100,000 steps in those five days.

It’s great being able to go walking pretty much whenever I like, but I’m getting slightly concerned about winter. I don’t mind rain at all, but I do mind sopping, clinging clothes. I can’t really afford to buy clothes of any sort right now, but I’d love to have a getup like Claire Underwood’s running gear. With the dog park being such a huge motivator too, I don’t think I’d do well on a treadmill. I guess we’ll see how it goes. I’ll probably just end up in a raincoat and soggy old shorts.

Well, let’s see how this next week goes. Fingers crossed for no more injuries.

Leave a Reply

