Currently sick

I never really feel compelled to eat boiled eggs unless I’m sick. Then it’s game on. My favourite are when the whites are solid and the yolks are still a bit runny – thicker, but runny. It’s a tricky business getting them perfect, and today, I didn’t succeed.

Never mind. My excuse is that I’m sick and I shouldn’t really be boiling eggs anyway. But arroz caldo is not quite the same without them. Arroz caldo literally means hot rice. It looks slightly better than hot wet rice.

It involves ginger, garlic, onion, rice, chicken, and chicken stock in a delicious medley that is pretty much the only food I want when I’m sick. Think of it as chicken soup in risotto form, but with extra goodies like boiled eggs and lemon juice. I got pretty close to my protein goal a couple of days ago thanks to my unholy cravings for eggs.

My big plans for the rest of the week have gone out the window. My old plans involved daily gym training, daily walking, and running every other day. My new plans involve a couch, a duvet, a constant stream of hot drinks and a subscription to Netflix. And probably a pile of snotty tissues which no-one wants to know about. Where does it all come from?

Disgusting pondering aside, it’s now time to finish watching Chef’s Table.

Leave a Reply

